Home » Thorbjorn Risager and The Black Tornado: Best Of

Thorbjorn Risager and The Black Tornado: Best Of

by Debra C. Argen
Thorbjorn Risager and The Black Tornado: Best Of
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Danish blues singer, songwriter, guitarist Thorbjorn Risager and his band The Black Tornado have been thrilling audiences for just shy of two decades. The band formed in 2003, released their first CD in 2004, and their career has skyrocketed since then due in part to the smoked honeyed whiskey voice of front man Thorbjorn Risager, and the talented band is par excellence as well. The new double-CD release, Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado: Best Of, features 25 fabulous songs crafted to perfection over the years as well as some new music. Released on September 24, 2021, on the Ruf Records label, this is a blues album for collectors.


Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado: Best Of:

First Decade CD 1: Rock n Roll Ride, Rhythms Of The Night, You Can Have It Your Way, Burning Up, Stand Beside Me, Love Turned Cold, Eyes That Turned Away, On My Way, You Better Pay Attention, You Walked Right Into My Heart, I Won’t Let You Down, In The Back Of My Mind, Heart Of The Night, All I Want, Ain’t Ever Gonna Leave No More

Second Decade CD 2: If You Wanna Leave, Last Train, Paradise, I Used To Love You, Hold My Lover Tight, China Gate, Never Givin In, Dreamland, Too Many Roads, Baby Please Don’t Go, Sin City, Maybe It’s Alright, Through The Tears, Come On In, Long Forgotten Track, High Rolling, Same Old Lies – Part Un (new), Same Old Lies – Part Deux (new)

Thorbjjorn Risager & The Black Tornado Personnel: The Band: Thorbjorn Risager: vocal, guitar, Emil Balsgaard: piano, organ, Wurlitzer, synthesizer, Joaquim Svensmark: guitar, synthesizer, background vocal, Kasper Wagner: alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, Hans Nybo: tenor saxophone, Peter Kehl: trumpet, flugelhorn, trombone, sousaphone, Soren Bojgaard: bass, Moog bass, synthesizer, Martin Seidelin: drums, percussion

Former Band Members who appear: Peter Skjerning: guitar, backing vocal, Svein Erik Martinson Anestad: guitar, backing vocal, Andreas Biilmann: trumpet

Also appearing: Lea Thorlann: backing vocal, Pia Trojgaard: backing vocal, Miriam Mandipira Mumba: backing vocal, Mads Lumholdt: backing vocal, Jarno Varstad: harmonica

The Tornadettes (on Songs From The Road): Ida Bang, backing vocal, Lisa Lystam: backing vocal

Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado: Best Of – "The very best of the first two decades. All killers, no fillers and same old lies!" Released on September 24, 2021, on the Ruf Records label, this 2-disc release is a celebration of the music of Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado. Since its inception in 2003, this popular Danish Blues band has had a meteoric rise, and continues to deliver the musical goods with each release and performance around the world. Among their numerous credits, they were nominated twice for the British Blues Awards and won 2 consecutive Danish Grammy Awards in 2013 and 2014. In short, they are a band to watch as their talent just keeps getting better and better.

Disc 1: 15 fabulous songs and covers the first decade of the band and has 56.55 minutes of music. The release opens with Rock n Roll Ride, a hard driving, down and gritty blues song that sets the pace and provides a fabulous intro into the power of the vocals as well as the pen. Next up is Rhythms Of The Night, where the band takes the slow route to perfection. Disc 1 closes with Ain’t Ever Gonna Leave No More where Thiorbjorn works his magic on an acoustic guitar and Jarno Varstad layers in his harmonica.

Disc 2: covers the second decade of the band and has 18 wonderful songs and runs 75.54 minutes, providing hours of pure listening pleasure. It includes a few tracks off the band’s 2017 release, Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado: Change My Game, I Used To Love You, Hold My Lover Tight, Dreamland, and Maybe It’s Alright. Thorbjorn wrote all those songs and co-wrote Dreamland with former bandmate Pete Skjerning. Other great tracks are China Gate, written by Victor Young and Harold Adamson, and Baby Please Don’t Go written by Big Joe Williams.

Two decades of music is certainly something to celebrate for Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado, where the music just keeps on getting better and better.

Until next time, keep enjoying the music!

Websites where you can purchase Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado: Best Of: Amazon

For more Information on Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado as well as upcoming performances, please the website: www.risager.info

For information on Ruf Records, please visit the website: www.RufRecords.de

Other Information:

YouTube: youtube.com/risagermovie

Facebook: facebook.com/thorbjornrisagerandtheblacktornado

Instagram: @thorbjornrisager_blacktornado

Twitter: @RisagerBand

Thorbjorn Risager & The Black Tornado website: https://risager.info/music/

Ruf Records: www.RufRecords.de

Follow Luxury Experience on Facebook at www.Facebook.com/LuxuryExperience to see photos and videos.

Follow Luxury Experience on Twitter at https://www.twitter.com/LuxuryPair @luxurypair

Follow Luxury Experience on Instagram: www.Instagram.com/luxurypair @luxurypair

© October 2021. Luxury Experience. www.LuxuryExperience.com. All rights reserved.

Related Articles